Article: “Key to great service is avoiding the 12 fatal flaws” (Jul.2006)

survey2.jpg

excerpt:
“When plotting service strategy and delivery, too many operators, managers and trainers focus on what they should “do” for their guests. I think it’s just as instructive and illuminating to define first what not to do. In other words, do you know what you don’t know that you don’t know?

So let’s take a closer look at what not to do to the guest and examine the fatal flaws of service-giving as seen through the customer’s lens. Eliminate these service blunders, and you may no longer have the need to “teach” service at all, because your customers will have a consistent experience characterized by the absence of complaints…”

source: “Key to great service is avoiding the 12 fatal flaws” by Jim Sullivan (Nation’s Restaurant News, Jul.31,2006) [free registration req.]

5 Comments »

  1. chavez said

    new to the bizz
    impressed with the advice

  2. chavez said

    hi dunno what to write

  3. Shell Smith said

    I have really enjoyed reading all your great tips (particularly the ones on customer service). I truly believe that, now a days, the best thing to set you apart is your service. I use this great company called Mindshare to help my company get feedback. It has helped us a lot, and has really opened our eyes to somethings we were doing that we weren’t aware of. Thanks again for linking to this article – it was very helpful.

  4. Merchant said

    wonderful idea…I will apply tha….. Please visit this site Thank you!
    restaurantincharleston.org

  5. Good day I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

